Skip to main content

About Samaritan Health

Boards of Trustees

Samaritan Medical Center and each of its affiliates is governed by separate Boards of Trustees. As a not-for-profit healthcare institution, these volunteer Boards establish the overall vision and strategy for the organizations’ future growth.

  • Samaritan Medical Center Close

    Melanie Parker-Geurtsen – Chair
    Thomas Carman – President and CEO
    Denise Young – Vice Chair
    Paul Barton – Secretary
    John Wheeler – Finance Committee Chair
    Maxine Briggs – Treasurer
    Jan Turcotte, M.D. – Immediate Past Chair


    John Barrett, M.D.
    Kevin Chandler, M.D.
    Shawna Cutuli
    Sadie Hall
    Marie Hess
    Kimberly (KI) LaClair
    Tracy Leonard

    Al Maloney, M.D.

    Thomas Piche
    Samuel Purington
    David Rechlin D.O.
    Rory Sears, D.O.
    Dierdra Sorrell
    Stephen Todd
    Timothy Virkler
    Joan Treadwell-Woods
    Mary Wardwell-Donahue

    Dr. Asim Kichloo
    Lynne Ferris


  • Samaritan Summit Village and Samaritan Keep Home Close

    Mary Wardwell-Donahue – Chair
    Thomas Carman – President and CEO
    Jordan Jones – Vice Chair
    Tracy Valentine – Secretary
    Maxine Briggs – Treasurer
    Patrick Calli – VP of Long Term Care Services

    Samuel Purington – Immediate Past Chair


    Francee Calarco
    Carl McLaughlin
    Linda O’Connor
    Barry Ormsby
    Melanie Parker-Geurtsen
    Melissa Schmitt
    Addison F. Vars, III
    Joan Treadwell-Woods
    Peter Walton

  • Samaritan Medical Center Foundation of Northern New York, Inc. Close

    Kimberly (KI) LaClair – Chair
    Thomas Carman – President & CEO
    Dana Keefer – Vice Chair
    Pam Beyor Murtha – 2nd Vice Chair
    Nancy Martel – Secretary
    John Wheeler – Treasurer
    Steven Pierce – Immediate Past Chair
    Elizabeth Fipps – VP, Foundation and Community Services

    David Adsit
    Irene Carman
    Franklin Cean
    Brian Fraser
    Alec Johnson
    Corry Lawler
    Maja Lundborg‐Gray, M.D.
    Maureen Lundy‐Way

    Melanie Parker-Geurtsen
    Peter Pike
    John Poggi, M.D.
    Catherine Quencer

    Samantha Robbins

    M. Andrew Short
    Patricia Tague
    Joan Treadwell-Woods
    Jan Turcotte, M.D.
    David VanEenenaam, M.D.
    Mary Wardwell‐Donahue
    Barbara Webber
    Lisa Weber
    Michael Yonkovig

  • Samaritan Auxiliary Close

    Shawna Cutuli – President
    Melissa Schmitt – Vice President
    Irene Carman – Secretary
    Berline Dodard – Immediate Past President

    Stacey Bristow

    Sarah Colligan
    Pauly Dylan

    Jeri Gosier

    Jessica Piatt Walczyk

  • Samaritan Home Health Close

    Thomas Carman – President & CEO
    Maxine Briggs – Treasurer
    Melanie Parker‐Geurtsen
    Lisa Gantt – Administrator

Samaritan Medical Center Administration

Under the governance of its Board of Trustees, Samaritan Medical Center’s administrative team carries forth the strategy and vision for the entire organization. Collectively, the team brings over 100 years of management and leadership experience to the organization.

The team is led by Thomas H. Carman, who has been Samaritan’s President and Chief Executive Officer since April 2004. Under Mr. Carman’s leadership, the team has positioned Samaritan to fulfill its mission of providing high quality, comprehensive, safe, and compassionate healthcare to the civilian and military community.

Thomas H. Carman, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO)
M. Andrew Short, Vice President & Chief Operating Officer (COO)
Maxine A. Briggs, Vice President, Chief Financial Officer (CFO)
Mario Victoria, MD, Vice President, Medical Affairs (Chief Medical Officer)
Jacqueline Dawe, Vice President, Patient Care Services & Chief Nursing Officer (CNO)
Joel Benware, Vice President, Information Services (CIO)
Beth Fipps, Vice President, Foundation and Community Services
Patrick Calli, Vice President, Long Term Care Services