Samaritan Celebrates Employees at Annual Service Awards Banquet

WATERTOWN, NY – On May 16, Samaritan celebrated its employees who reached twenty-years-in-service or more milestones in 2021 with a dinner and awards reception at the Hilton Garden Inn.

The event served as the kick-off for Samaritan Experience Week, during which all caregivers across Samaritan Health are recognized.

“It takes a special person to go into healthcare. Someone who is caring and willing to give of themselves.  We are honored to celebrate our Samaritan Caregivers who have dedicated their careers to Samaritan, our patients/residents, and their team members,” said Thomas H. Carman, President and CEO of Samaritan Medical Center.  “We cannot thank them enough for their loyalty and dedication. While these last two years through the pandemic have been challenging, all Samaritan Caregivers have been caring, committed, and courageous.” 

Recognized for 45 years with Samaritan was Debra Lashway (not photographed at the event).

For 40 years were Kelly R. Scee, Gale Y. Freeman, Diane L. Tibbles, Margaret (Peggy) Macaulay, and Mary K. Gregory. Debra Farmer was recognized but didn’t attend the dinner.

For 35 years were Kelly S. Burnash, Randal K. Halaburka, James P. King, Anthony J. Marra, Lisa L. Pittman, Lori A. Plantz, and Debra A. Sumell.

Pictured here are Lisa L. Pittman and Anthony J. Marra

30 years celebrated were Tina Marie Ackerman, Robert C. Ackley Jr., Evelyn R. Aviste, Kelly Reese Barker, Diane A. Chisamore, Amy E. Collins, Mary E. Gregory, Jennifer J. Haley, Jody L. Hewitt, Kimberly A. Jackson, Bonnie Louise Labarge, Stacey Michelle Mack, Debra Marino, Beverly M. Monica, Sandra Lee Netto, and Nicole R. Simmons.

Pictured here are Evelyn Aviste, Bonnie LaBarge, and Debra Marino

At 25 years the following caregivers were recognized: Sharon L. Sourwine,  Ruth H. Powell, Jennifer E. Lundy-Kalin, Pamela J. Childers, Jean R. Kress, Cherene L. DeRosia, and Paul E. Gillette (in the picture); and Dawn Bastien, Monica J. Campbell, Brianne Nicole Castro, Keitha R. Dupee, Patti Ann Freeman, Cynthia E. Hall, Debra S. Hamilton, Leisa F. Hamm, Tammie Hulbert, Christopher Martin Lavin, Randy J. Marino, Marco Schmidt, Betty Shelmidine, John Stano, Anne M. Tyler, Julie A. Verne, and Danny W. Vincent.

For 20 years the following caregivers were recognized: Norravith “Ae” Mathison, Garett Joseph Hayes, Catherine A. Ford, Terrance L. Cavanaugh, Kelly R. Brasel, Tonya R. Covington, Sandra L. Veley, Rose Busler, Lorraine E. Hoffman, and Crystal L. DeWitt (in the picture). Also were recognized but not in attendance: Mark K. Cloonan, Gail Francine Dennie, Raiona Rae Fleming, Todd H. Fuller, Jody Renee Hanson, Norma Jean Hunter, Scott J. Jacobs, Carolyn Orton, Shelia Sheehan, Karen Elizabeth Stewart, Patricia A. Thomas, Laurie Jo Wayte, and Kristin Elizabeth A. Worden.