About Samaritan Health

Samaritan Medical Center and the office of Graduate Medical Education (GME) is accredited by theĀ American Osteopathic Association (AOA) Counsel for Continuing Medical Education (CCME) as a Category 1 CME Sponsor.

New York State General Requirement for Renewal of a Permanent License

New York State currently has no CME requirements for renewing a Physician License. However, New York does have new CME requirements pending for Physician License Renewal (New York SB 2043).

2013-2015 Accreditation Cycle Requirements

CME Requirements

All members of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), other than those exempted, are required to participate in the Continuing Medical Education (CME) program and to meet specified CME credit hour requirements for the 2013-2015 CME cycle.

One hundred and twenty credits of CME are required for membership in the American Osteopathic Association within this three-year cycle. Of this total, thirty CME credits must be obtained in Category 1-A and the remaining ninety credit hours of the CME requirement may be satisfied with either Category 1-A, 1-B, 2-A, or 2-B credits. Physicians entering the program in mid cycle will have their credit requirements prorated. Your individual CME Activity Report outlines your total CME requirement and the amount of credits required in categories 1 and 2.

Members who obtain one hundred and fifty credits or more of AOA approved applicable CME credit in a three-year CME cycle will be given a certificate of excellence in CME. These hours must be earned by December 31ST, but reported no later than May 31st of the current CME cycle.

In recognition that members of the AOA who hold specialty or subspecialty certificates in those specialties with less than three hundred certificate holders, may have difficulty accruing the necessary AOA 1-A credits required for membership, such members may apply AMA or AAFP category 1credits to their AOA 1-A credit requirement up to the maximum of 15 CME credits per cycle to meet the Category 1-A credit requirement for membership. To qualify for AOA Category 1-A CME credit under this policy the following criteria must be met:

  1. Osteopathic physicians must be a member of the AOA
  2. Physicians’ must be AOA and/or ABMS certified
  3. The specialty/subspecialty must be listed as a qualifying specialty

Lists of specialties and subspecialties with less than 300 certified members are available on the Website at www.osteopathic.org. This policy does not apply to Certificate of Added Qualification (CAQ’s) or ABMS subspecialty which is equivalent to the AOA CAQ.

For eligibility in this program, contact your certifying board. Specialty colleges may petition the CCME to have members exempted from the current policy of allowing DOs with less than 300 DOs boarded in that specialty, to use 15 AMA credits as AOA 1-A credit. If the specialty college feels that they are offering sufficient quality programs to meet the physicians needs each CME cycle, specialty colleges can request an exemption from this policy with a detailed report of identified courses.

The Complete 2019-2021 CME Guide for Osteopathic Physicians

For Joint Sponsorship and/or Accreditation services please contact:

Jamie Wilcox
Clinical Coordinator
Graduate Medical Education
Office: 315-779-5362
Fax: 315-785-4089
830 Washington Street
Watertown, New York 13601